Extra Moose Yarn

Hello there! I have a special treat today! I’m so excited!

71Q09MAh8fL._SL1156_[1]

Have you read this book? It’s one of my best friends. Did you know a book can be a best friend? Sure–you have “real” friends. I do too. I have Zebra and Cat and Snake and Lollipop and Owl and Yo-Yo. But I have some best friends who are books, too. And this book is one of them. It’s called EXTRA YARN. It is written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen.

In the book, a little girl finds a box of endless yarn. She knits lots of nice thing for the people and objects in her town.

011

There’s more to the story, but I’m not one to rush things along or give away an ending. You’ll have to read EXTRA YARN to find out the rest. But let’s get back to where I am today, and the special photos I get to show you!

004

I am in at the Wood County District Library in Bowling Green, Ohio. They have put out an AMAZING display honoring Extra Yarn. Look at what they’ve done!

016

They’ve knitted cozies for all the things around their library! See the tree cozy?

017

See?

And the bench cozy?

012

Isn’t it great?

013

018

Look at THIS! Look at the bike rack!

019

Wow!! And this pretty knitted flower!

014

015

Even this little dog came by to see the fun. Looks like he got wrapped up in the extra yarn!

008

These statues of kids reading have also been entwined!

025

023

I wonder what they’re reading? Hey look–Pete the Cat is here, too!

020

I’m going to go inside and see if there’s any extra yarn in there! And you know what? I’m going to check out a giant pile of books to take home. That’s the BEST PART about libraries. They have tons of books, AND they let you borrow them! Maybe you need to visit your library soon. November is a great time to find a blanket, curl up, and read a book!

Good-bye from Bowling Green. See you next time!

005

Photos by Betsy, Findlay, Ohio

Categories: Z IS FOR MOOSE | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

