5K Hoof For The Cure

Hello there! Today I am in Ohio, getting ready to walk a 5K. A “5K” equals about three miles. This is not an ordinary walk, either. This is a Susan G. Komen Race for The Cure Walk.

039

This is a REALLY BIG walk and race. The point of the race is to celebrate life, raise awareness of cancer, and to raise funds for research that might find a cure for breast cancer someday. Let’s go!

062

There is a huge crowd here at the Susan G. Komen race for the cure! Fortunately I’ve found a friend who will help me make my way to the starting line.

047

This dog is going to cheer us on!

dog

I’ve got my ribbon on. Pink is the color of breast cancer awareness, so we will see a lot of pink today. I like that, because pink is one of my favorite colors!

ribbon

These people are all cancer survivors. They are here to walk with everyone, raise money for the cure, and to celebrate. They’re pretty awesome!

survivors

These people are going to RUN the entire time. Wow!

runners

Wow. That’s Sparky the Dalmation, getting things started. I wonder if he needs help? Maybe I should go up there and get this started!

dalmation 2

Here we go!

walking

Hey, there’s some great bands here to play music for us. That makes me feel like marching!

bands

Look at all these people with motorcycles, cheering us on! That’s fun. And I like those bikes!

bikers

In fact, maybe I need to look into getting one of these when I get home. I wonder if Zebra would go halvsies with me?

moose bike

Mile one is complete! And I feel great! How about you?

mile one complete

Pink carnations? I’d love one. Thanks!

carnations

Everyone along the walk has decorated their homes and yards with pink. It’s great!

baloon tree

We sure have a lot of energetic people out here today!

walking 3

Nice! A local band playing for all of us walkers! That’s jazzy. But I’m getting kind of tired…

street band 2

Would it be cheating if I rode on the….it would? Oh.

golf cart

Oh, good. Water! I’m so THIRSTY. I don’t know if I can do this. It’s awfully far. And what if…wait. Hey, is that the finish line I see ahead?

water

I MADE IT!! Whoo hoo!! And look at my time! One hour, four minutes, forty seconds. That’s a lot of one’s and four’s. Who knew I could do this so FAST?

finish line 3

Whoa! Local celebrity and television news anchor Chrys Peterson!! NICE.

Chrys Peterson

Hey, remember this guy? Hi, Sparky! Yey! I finished!!

dalmation 3 sparky

Ooooh, one of my favorite snacks. Apples! Did you know that apple starts with “a?” How nice that they are giving these away to us hoofers. Maybe I should go around again!

food 3

So here we are, wrapping up our 5K in front of the….hey, an ELK’s lodge? That’s nice, but where is the MOOSE lodge? I need to go straighten this out.

044

See you soon! And if you have the chance to do a 5K Hoof For The Cure in YOUR neighborhood, please do!

Photos by Betsy, Ohio

Categories: Z IS FOR MOOSE | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “5K Hoof For The Cure

  1. Barbara Haberly

    He was walking for Aunt Louise.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

