Hollywood and Skweebee

Hello! Today I am in Los Angeles, California. I am here for a conference. A ‘conference’ is a gigantic gathering of people who all want to talk and talk and talk and talk about the same thing. Today’s conference is about writing BOOKS. I love books, so here I am!

The conference is put on by some people from an organization called SCBWI. They say it that stands for “Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.” But I think it should just be called SKWEEBEE. Don’t you?

Oh my! One of my very favorite authors and illustrators is here. Bruce Degen! He has written so many wonderful books. This one is JAMBERRY. I read it every night at bedtime! You should too!

photo (5)

Lectures! I’m taking notes and learning lots of things about how to write another BOOK. And so is everyone else. Wow–we’re going to have lots of great BOOKS come out of this conference! How fun is that?

photo (4)

One of my favorite books! THE STINKY CHEESE MAN, by Jon Scieszka! I wonder if he’ll sign it for me?

photo (3)

Ready for more lectures! This is great stuff!

IMG_2487

Skweebee was FUN. Lots of fun! But now, before I go back home, I think I’ll grab a quick tour or HOLLYWOOD, California. The place where movies–and stars–are made!

IMG_2485

First Mouse stole the “M.” Now he’s made himself forty million times BIGGER than me. I think Mice need a lot of attention, don’t you?

IMG_2455

Did you know that Hollywood likes famous animals? This DUCK got his own star on the Walk Of Fame. MY star must be around here somewhere, right?

IMG_2456

Are all those for ME? Probably so. Those are little “Oscars.” An Oscar is a gold statue you win for being supremely great. And that’s me, right? I think they all say “Best Moose.”

IMG_2458

Look at that! Well, you probably can’t see it, because it’s so far away. But behind me, on the hill, is the big HOLLYWOOD sign!

IMG_2470

There it is!

IMG_2462

Wow, what a big couch. I think I’ll take a little nap!

IMG_2473

Look at this! I’m on the Road To Hollywood! I knew it would happen someday!

IMG_2472

Hey, I saw this place in the movie IRON MAN. I think it’s had a few different names. Right now it’s called the TCL Chinese Theater. And there’s a huge crowd here, staring at the ground and taking pictures. You know why? Because a lot of famous people have left their handprints and footprints in cement here. Let’s go look!

IMG_2476

Here I am with the handprints of Gene Autry, a famous cowboy who made movies long ago. And look! Here are the hoofprints of his famous horse!! I have hoofprints, too. Think anyone will let me leave mine in the cement around here?

IMG_2480

Oooh! This big green guy wanted to talk to me so here I am. Look at those TEETH. No worries, though. He wanted to run some book ideas by me. And he’s got some great ideas! I think I see a few best sellers in his future!

IMG_2466

Ah-ha! Another famous animal. And not just any animal. A bear from a BOOK. Have you read his book? You should. You know, movies are great, but seeing THIS star makes me want to read. I think I’ll do just that. See you next time!

IMG_2486

Categories: Z IS FOR MOOSE | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

